As a commitment to nurturing artists we provide a number of award opportunities.

The 2018 Balnaves Foundation Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Fellowship


Belvoir is now accepting entries for The 2018 Balnaves Foundation Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Fellowship, an evolution of the Balnaves Foundation Indigenous Playwright Award.

In 2018 the Award is taking an exciting new shape and will now become a fellowship, which will see the winner given the opportunity to work within Belvoir in 2019 as a resident artist and receive $25,000 over a year-long period to create their new work. Also in 2018, the award will broaden to also encompass directors who can drive the creation of a new, Indigenous-led, stage work, whether that be a new play, an adaptation or through a devised process.

The Balnaves Award has long been recognised as one of the most prestigious playwriting awards in Australia, attracting entrants of the highest calibre. Previous winners (including Leah Purcell, Megan Wilding, Nakkiah Lui and Ursula Yovich) have submitted exceptional works that consistently prove the depth of talent in amongst our nation’s Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander theatre-makers.

Actor and Gamilaroi woman Megan Wilding won the award in 2017 with a commission to write a play about an Indigenous woman who takes violent revenge against a man who sexually assaulted her as a child.

Since 2011 The Balnaves Foundation has supported the presentation of two Indigenous-led works per year as part of Belvoir’s annual season. The Balnaves Foundation is committed to working towards reconciliation and has supported numerous Indigenous arts projects including the creative development of I Am Eora and Black Diggers for Sydney Festival.

Entries close 6pm Monday 6th August and the winner will be announced as part of Belvoir’s 2019 Season Launch.

Download the 2018 Application Form here
Download the 2018 Submission Guidelines here.




2017 – Megan Wilding
2016 – Ursula Yovich
2015 –
Katie Beckett
2014 –
Leah Purcell
2013 –
Jada Alberts
2012 – 
Nakkiah Lui

The Philip Parsons Fellowship
for Emerging Playwrights

Applications for the 2017 Philip Parsons Fellowship for Emerging Playwrights have closed for this year. 

The Philip Parsons Fellowship is given to an early career playwright with a strong and unique theatrical voice. The Fellowship is an integral part of Belvoir’s ongoing artistic development activities and commitment to new Australian work.

The recipient of the Fellowship is awarded a $15,000 commission to develop a new work. Belvoir provides guidance and dramaturgical assistance for the script’s development.

The Philip Parsons Fellowship attracts the highest calibre of young Australian playwrights. Many Fellowship recipients have developed commissions that have been highly acclaimed. Productions include Is This Thing On? by Zoë Coombs Marr, The Seed by Kate Mulvany and The Great Fire by Kit Brookman.

Applicants for the Philip Parsons Fellowship for Emerging Playwrights must be in the first eight years of their professional practice and must either live in New South Wales or have had their work presented in New South Wales in the last 12 months. Writers may submit one play that is 45 minutes or longer that has been produced in a professional or co-operative company in the past 12 months.

The Fellowship is given annually in conjunction with the Philip Parsons Memorial Lecture. The Fellowship and Lecture commemorate the life and work of Philip Parsons, AM. Dr Parsons was an influential teacher and mentor to many of Australia’s young theatre artists.

The Philip Parsons Fellowship for Emerging Playwrights is supported by Create NSW.


Past recipients

2017 – Emme Hoy
2016 – Holly Austin, Adriano Cappelletta and Jo Turner (writing team)
2015 – Nakkiah Lui and S.Shakthidharan
2014 – Julia-Rose Lewis
2013 – Ian Meadows
2012 – Kit Brookman
2011 – Zoe Coombs Marr
2010 – Matthew Whittet
2009 – Tahli Corin
2008 – Khoa Do
2007 – Tommy Murphy
2006 – Patrick Brammall and John Leary
2005 – Brendan Cowell
2004 – Kate Mulvany
2003 – Jonathan Gavin