Curious and passionate Rita is falling in love with hilariously pedantic Manfred. Together, they are fearless. East Germany is in generational turmoil: post-war trauma in conflict with youthful optimism.

Utopias seem possible. Marxism! Socialism! Revolution! But the Cold War is underway and when Manfred’s professional ambitions are thwarted, he looks to the West. The Soviets put a man into space and a Wall is about the split the city. Will their love go the way of their beloved country, or will Rita’s idealism, and seemingly boundless capacity for sacrifice triumph?

Christa Wolf was one of the most beloved German authors of her generation. Her first full-length novel They Divided the Sky was hailed at the time for its artistic achievement and excoriated for its “decadent” politics. This timely adaptation by Daniel Schlusser has been written for two of our finest young performers, Nikki Shiels and Alexander England.

A Daniel Schlusser Ensemble production.


Alex England
Nikki Shiels


From the novel by Christa Wolf adapted for the stage by Daniel Schlusser
Director Daniel Schlusser
Designer Robert Cousins
Lighting Designer Amelia Lever-Davidson
Sound Designer James Paul
Produced by froudist

Special thanks to Luise von Flotow and Antje Scheuritzel.

Performance Times

13 – 30 June 2018

Wednesday 13 June 8.15pm
Thursday 14 June 8.15pm
Friday 15 June 8.15pm (Opening Night, private event)
Saturday 16 June 8.15pm
Tuesday 19 June 6.45pm
Wednesday 20 June 6.45pm
Thursday 21 June 8.15pm
Friday 22 June 8.15pm
Saturday 23 June 8.15pm
Sunday 24 June 5.15pm
Tuesday 26 June 6.45pm
Wednesday 27 June 6.45pm
Thursday 28 June 8.15pm
Friday 29 June 8.15pm
Saturday 30 June 8.15pm


All tickets to 25A productions are $25.
Preview tickets are $20.
Click BUY TICKETS to book your tickets now.
Full ticket terms and conditions can be found on the Ticket Prices page.