(An all-female, 3 actor version)

A football club on the brink of great change. The Club is in crisis – the old guard is being put into question and a new path must be paved.

Tradition vies against innovation in a world in which mate-ship, casual violence, homophobia and racism are not only commonplace but par for the course, where the pool table and the whiskey bottle are go-tos for letting off steam and the pressure is on to be the hero, to save the team and the name of the club in the process.

A bold new imagining of David Williamson’s classic 1977 play by all-female theatre company, isthisyours?

Performed by just three actors, Williamson’s incisive and hilarious dialogue rings true at a time when women’s roles in the club are no longer confined to being merely spectators or supporters of men, but as true champions of an ever evolving and much loved game.

Presented by isthisyours? at 25A.

Image based on original cover design of The Club, first published by Currency Press in 1978.


Jude Henshall
Louisa Mignone
Ellen Steele


Written by David Williamson
Directed by Tessa Leong

Performance Times

7 – 22 December 2018

Friday 7 December 8.15pm
Saturday 8 December 8.15pm (Opening Night, private event)
Tuesday 11 December 6.45 pm
Wednesday 12 December 6.45 pm
Thursday 13 December 8.15pm
Friday 14 December 8.15pm
Saturday 15 December 8.15pm
Sunday 16 December 5.15pm
Tuesday 18 December 6.45 pm
Wednesday 19 December 6.45 pm
Thursday 20 December 8.15pm
Friday 21 December 8.15pm
Saturday 22 December 8.15pm