Medea, Sydney Theatre Awards, Anne-Louise Sarks, Kate Mulvany, Best Production

Rory Potter, Blazey Best & Joseph Kelly in Medea. Photo by Heidrun Lohr

Last night the Sydney Theatre Critics announced the winners of the Sydney Theatre Awards at the Paddington RSL Club. In a fun and informal event the best theatre and musicals were honoured, and Barry Humphries received the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Belvoir was recognised with eight awards, including 5 for Medea which was presented in association with Australian Theatre for Young People.

Belvoir winners:
Claude Marcos
Best Stage Design of a Mainstage Production

Stefan Gregory
Best Score or Sound Design

Patrick Brammall
Best Actor in a Supporting Role in a Mainstage Production
Death of a Salesman

Joseph Kelly & Rory Potter
Best Newcomers

Kate Mulvany & Anne-Louise Sarks after Euripides
Best New Australian Work

Blazey Best
Best Actress in a Leading Role in a Mainstage Production

Anne-Louise Sarks
Best Direction of a Mainstage Production

Belvoir and ATYP
Best Mainstage Production

Congratulations to all of the winners and nominees and thank you to the Sydney Theatre Critics for putting on the awards each year.

Full list of winners